About Our Churches
A Brief History
Henry Poole was a curate at Newland and he issued an appeal for public aid towards the erection of a church and school-house in Parkend.
The appeal was successful and from these voluntary funds St. Paul’s was built. It was built on a piece of ground called Mason’s Tump by Richard James in 1820-22 under the supervision of Henry Poole who, before his ordination, had experience in architecture in Bristol.
The consecration of the church took place on May 2nd, 1822
Copyright ©2018 Parkend and Viney Hill Churches, All Rights Reserved.