About Our Churches


A Brief History
Henry Poole was a curate at Newland and he issued an appeal for public aid towards the erection of a church and school-house in Parkend. The appeal was successful and from these voluntary funds St. Paul’s was built. It was built on a piece of ground called Mason’s Tump by Richard James in 1820-22 under the supervision of Henry Poole who, before his ordination, had experience in architecture in Bristol. The consecration of the church took place on May 2nd, 1822










Home        About                Contact

Copyright ©2018 Parkend and Viney Hill Churches, All Rights Reserved.
(c)2018, All Rights Reserved Parkend and Viney Hill Churches